Polari First Book Prize


Established in 2011, The Polari First Book Prize is for a first book which explores the LGBT experience, in prose or poetry, fiction or non-fiction.

Books must be published in English in the 12 months leading up to the submission date.

Self published books are eligible.

Authors must be born or based in the UK.

Previous winners are –

2011 - ‘AutoFellatio’ by James Maker

2012 - ‘The Frost Fairs’ by John McCullough

2013 - ‘The Murder Wall’ by Mari Hannah

2014 - ‘Fairytales for Lost Children’ by Diriye Osman

2015 - ‘The Rental Heart’ by Kirsty Logan

2016 - ‘The Good Son’ by Paul McVeigh

2017 - ‘Guapa’ by Saleem Haddad

The call for submissions for the 2018 prize will be in late Feb, for books published in the 12 months up to Feb 1, 2018

Press contacts

Ashton Bainbridge   Finnian Brewer

FMcM Associates  FMcM Associates

ashtonb@fmcm.co.uk    Finnianb@fmcm.co.uk 

0207 4057422    0207 4057422